woman sitting while showing heart sign hands

Heart Chakra Mantras: The Vibrational Bridge to Pure Love

The human body is a complex symphony of energies, with each instrument playing its unique role. One of the most vital and often overlooked components of this energetic orchestra is the heart chakra, or in the Sanskrit language, the “Anahata Chakra”. Today, we’ll delve deep into the spiritual practice of heart chakra mantras and how they can unlock your center of love, your heart center.

What is the Heart Chakra?

The chakra system in our bodies comprises seven energy centers, starting from the root chakra at the base of the spine to the sacral chakra, and all the way up to the third eye on the forehead and the crown chakra at the top of the head. The heart chakra, also known as the fourth chakra, is located at the center of the chest. Its color is a vibrant green, symbolizing the element of air and the life-nourishing properties of plants.

heart shaped red neon signage, heart chakra mantras

Often referred to as the bridge between the lower chakras, which are more connected to our physical body, and the upper chakras, which are associated with our spiritual practices and subconscious mind, the heart chakra plays a pivotal role in our mental health and emotional well-being. A well-balanced heart chakra facilitates the flow of energy through the body, which promotes feelings of love, inner peace, and harmony in our loving relationships.

Recognizing Symptoms of a Blocked Heart Chakra

Understanding the heart chakra blockage symptoms is the first step in cultivating a healthy energy center. When the heart chakra is blocked, it can manifest in both emotional and physical symptoms. Emotionally, you may experience difficulty in forming or maintaining relationships, feeling empathy, or expressing feelings of love. Physically, the symptoms can include chest discomfort, respiratory problems, or a general sense of unease in the body.

a woman touching her chest and abdomen, clear heart chakra with mantras

Unlocking the Heart Chakra: The Power of Mantras

Mantras are a powerful tool for spiritual healing. In the context of chakras, a specific seed mantra, also known as a bija mantra, is associated with each energy center. For the heart chakra, the bija mantra is “YAM” (pronounced Yan-gm). Reciting this mantra in a meditative state can help clear heart chakra blockages and promote a flow of positive energy.

To integrate mantras into your daily routine, find a quiet place where you can sit comfortably with a straight back. Begin to quiet your mind, and when you’re ready, chant the bija mantra “YAM” aloud or silently in your mind. Visualize a green light radiating from your heart center and engulfing your body with each repetition.

Heart Chakra Affirmations: A Supplement to Mantras

Alongside mantras, heart chakra affirmations are another powerful tool for activating the Anahata chakra. Positive affirmations are a form of mental conditioning that can penetrate your subconscious mind and manifest positive changes in your life. I like to say them silently while also picturing the words coming directly out of my heart. It’s great at helping you keep your focus, which keeping a hand on the center of your chest can too.  Here are a few powerful heart chakra affirmations you might want to incorporate into your routine:

“I am open to love.”

“I forgive myself and others.”

“I love myself unconditionally.”

“My heart is full of love and compassion.”

Additional Aids: Essential Oils, Crystals, and More

person putting aroma oil to a candle, heart chakra tools and aids

Harnessing the Power of Essential Oils 

The practice of using essential oils, in conjunction with heart chakra mantras and affirmations, can be a potent healing practice. Rose, jasmine, and lavender are some of the essential oils known for their heart chakra-balancing properties.

Amplifying Your Mantras with Crystals 

As a bridge between your physical and spiritual self, your heart chakra can also be influenced by the natural vibrations of certain crystals. Just as each chakra has a corresponding mantra, many have specific crystals that resonate with their energy. Using these in conjunction with your heart chakra mantras can amplify their effects and facilitate deeper healing.

Rose Quartz

Rose Quartz is often referred to as the ‘Love Stone’. It’s not just its pretty pink color that makes it associated with the heart chakra. Its energetic properties are believed to stimulate feelings of unconditional love, compassion, forgiveness, and inner peace. It can help soothe and release stress, emotional wounds, and fears. Holding a Rose Quartz while chanting your heart chakra mantras can intensify feelings of self-love and compassion towards others.

Green Aventurine

This sparkling green crystal is known as the ‘Stone of Opportunity’. Green Aventurine is believed to release old patterns and habits, facilitating growth and new experiences. When used in conjunction with heart chakra mantras, it can help you to open your heart to new experiences and encourages feelings of love.


Rhodonite is a powerful emotional balancer that nurtures love and encourages the brotherhood of humanity. It resonates with forgiveness and aids in reconciliation after long-term pain and abuse. It can be a supportive stone while chanting your mantras, especially when dealing with emotional wounds that need healing.


Emerald, with its vibrant and rich green color, has been associated with the heart chakra for centuries. Known as a stone of successful and abundant love, it can help bring vitality and integrity back into a struggling relationship.

Embracing the Green: Nature as a Healing Tool

Moreover, you might find that surrounding yourself with the color green or spending time in nature—another domain of the green element of air—can further enhance your heart chakra work.

Final Thoughts

The heart chakra is the bridge between our physical existence and spiritual practices. Ensuring a balanced and clear heart chakra through heart chakra mantras, affirmations, and additional aids, can lead to feelings of love, empathy, inner peace, and a sense of wholeness. Remember, your journey to unlocking pure love is a continuous process—so be gentle with yourself and take one step at a time.

newsletter the hermit and the page



We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

Skip to content
%d bloggers like this: